17

17

Praise the Lord

Until today the “Huschen”, iron sliding carriages used to transport the sandstone blocks down to the barges on the river Elbe, and the terraced working areas bear witness to past activities in the numerous quarries. For centuries sandstone from the banks of the river Elbe was an important building material for churches and public buildings in the entire region. The heyday of quarrying was during the Baroque era. The location of Dresden made it possible to build the Dresden Frauenkirche (Church of our Lady) using stone from the immediate vicinity of the city; the material used to rebuild it also came from quarries near Pirna. In total 28 000 m3 of sandstone were used in the restauration work; this includes more than 4000 blocks from the original building before its destruction in 1945 that were reused.

15

15

A strange surveying mistake

The German count of river kilometers officially starts at the border between Saxony and Bohemia at Gelobtbachbrücke near Schöna on the left bank of the river Elbe. The German kilometer 0 is identical with the Czech kilometer 105,81. Czech and German kilometers run parallel for 3,43 kilometers since the border runs in the middle of the river; the Czech river kilometers continue to the border crossing at Schmilka/Hřensko. After 121 of the German river kilometers a strange surveying error occured in 1880 because the kingdoms of Prussia and Saxony had measured the river each on its own and at the border of these two territories it suddenly became obvious that there was a redundant kilometer. The pragmatic solution was to introduce a kilometer 121a that follows the regular kilometer 121. The unconventional addition exists to this very day.

07

7

Security service

Crossing the Wolfsschlucht (wolve’s gorge) one reaches the impressive outlook on the Hockstein. During the middle ages a castle was situated on this outcrop. Its garrison must have been terribly bored since they whiled away time playing nine men’s morris. They marked out the board on the rock, its lines are still visible today.
The ages of nine men’s morris is unknown; the oldest plan for this game was discovered on a roof tile from the ancient Egyptian temple at Kurna and dates to around 1400 BCE. Later the Romans traced the plan into the stone pavement of public places. It even can be found in Aix-en-chapelle; in the palatinate chapel it is engraved into the marble slabs of the throne which were brought from Jerusalem.

17

17

Ehre sei Gott

Heute zeugen noch Huschen – eiserne Schlitten, über die die Sandsteinblöcke zu den Elbkänen hinuntergelassen wurden – und die Werkterrassen vom früheren Betrieb der vielen Steinbrüche. Jahrhundertelang war der Elbsandstein wichtigstes Baumaterial für Kirchen und Profanbauten im gesamten Elbegebiet. Besonders die Barockzeit war Höhepunkt des Sandsteinabbaus. Die Lage Dresdens machte es möglich, dass auch die Frauenkirche mit Steinen aus direkter Nähe gebaut werden konnte und auch das Material für ihren Wiederaufbau stammt aus den Steinbrüchen in der Nähe von Pirna. Insgesamt wurden beim Wiederaufbau der Frauenkirche in Dresden 28.000 m3 Sandstein verbaut, eingerechnet sind über 4000 Quader, die aus dem Originalgebäude vor der Zerstörung 1945 stammten.

15

15

Kurioser Vermessungsfehler

Die deutsche Zählung der Stromkilometer der Elbe beginnt offiziell an der sächsisch-böhmischen Grenze an der Gelobtbachmühle bei Schöna am linken Elbufer. Der deutsche Elbkilometer 0 ist dabei gleichzeitig der tschechische Kilometer 105,81. Tschechische und deutsche Kilometrierung überschneiden sich in einem 3,43 km langen Bereich, in dem die Grenze in der Flussmitte verläuft. Die tschechische läuft auf dem rechten Elbufer bis zum Grenzübergang Schmilka/Hřensko. Nach 121 der deutschen Kilometer kam es im Jahre 1880 zu einem kuriosen Vermessungsfehler, denn die Königreiche Preußen und Sachsen hatten die Elbvermessung jedes für sich durchgeführt, so dass an der damaligen Reichsgrenze plötzlich ein Kilometer zu viel vorhanden war. Deshalb behalf man sich und ließ dem Kilometer 121 den Kilometer 121A folgen. Den gibt es bis heute.

07

7

Security service

Durch die Wolfsschlucht wandert man auf die imposante Aussicht auf dem Hockstein. Im Mittelalter stand hier eine Burganlage. Für die Besatzung der Burg muß es recht langweilig gewesen sein, sie vertrieb sich ihre Zeit beim Mühlespiel. Das Spielbrett kratzten sie direkt in den Fels, die Linien sind noch heute zu sehen.
Das Alter des Mühlespiels in Europa ist nicht bekannt. Der älteste Mühlespielplan wurde auf einer Dachplatte des Tempels im ägyptischen Kurna entdeckt, er ist etwa 3400 Jahre alt. Später ritzten auch die Römer das Spiel in die Steinböden öffentlicher Plätze. Sogar bis in die Aachener Pfalzkapelle ist das Mühlespiel gelangt, dort kann man es auf den aus Jerusalem stammenden Marmorplatten des Thrones finden.